top of page

San Angel Inn Restaurante Lunch Review



For me going out to eat is one of my favorite things, especially themed dining. I am a total nerd when it comes to themed dining, which is one of the reasons Epcot is my favorite dining location on the planet. Talk about drink menus, Epcot annihilates competition when it comes to fun themes for décor, meals and drinks. On October 16th 2022 my family and I went to San Angel Inn Restaurante in Disney's Epcot in the Mexico pavilion for a late lunch.

First Impression



To get to the restaurant, you have to enter through the pyramid in Mexico Pavilion. Seriously, talk about setting the scene. As you walk past the fountains, store fronts, tequila tastings and kiosks you make your way to the back and see what looks like an indoor out door restaurant in Mexico overlooking some Aztec statues, carvings, and volcanos (from the 3 Caballeros ride). We used the QR code to scan in for our reservations, and within a few minutes were called to be seated. There really isn't a bad view or seating option, but we happened to get seated right where the boat from the ride passes by (which was my preferred location). Staff was incredibly friendly, accommodating, and helpful.


Dining Experience


Menu options were all Mexican cuisine, except for the kids menu which included some American child favorites like mac and cheese, and chicken nuggets. We ordered enchiladas and tacos. Food did not take long to arrive, and we had chips and cocktails while we waited. The food was delicious had excellent presentation, and served hot. But lets be honest, you are paying for the scenery, which does not disappoint. As far as drinks I tried NPH's creation Black Magic, which while tasty was a hefty $21 a glass, so I only had 1. While it is not listed on the menu, the Sangria in Mexico was definitely my favorite drink. Fruity and not too sweet, with a touch of whiskey in it, so it has quite a kick. The desserts listed looked really interesting, especially the sweet corn ice cream and the tres leches de horchata, but we did not have the opportunity to try any. If you happen to try either one of those, mention in the comments what they're like. I definitely want to experience them in the future.


Pros and Cons


Pros: Scenery, Tacos, Friendly Staff, Kid friendly options, great drink & dessert menu

Cons: Pricey, Need a reservation, Reservations can be hard to get

Overall Restaurant Rating

Let me be clear on my rating scale here, because I don’t want it to seem harsh. I rate 1-5 stars. If you ever have reviews at your job on their 1-5 scale, its kind of like that.

1 star = falls below standards

2 stars= needs improvement, falls short of expectations

3 stars = meets expectations

4 stars = exceeds expectations

5 stars = entirely another category of awesome – way above target.

So essentially 3 stars is good, rather than mediocre.


Category

Score

Wait Time

4 - You do need reservations, but as long as you have them you will be sitting within 5 minutes of your reservation time

Staff Helpful/friendliness

4- This is Disney, so everyone on staff is above average. Everyone is super kind, friendly and accomodating

Comfort of Seating

3- Seating was comfortable, and somewhat* close to other tables, average

View/appearance

5 - whole other level - You enter a pyramid, to find yourself transported into Mexico at night. This is Disney level magic, and what you're paying for.

Menu Diversity

5- I am going with a 5 on this because in addition to having tacos, enchiladas, & mole, they also have tasty (more than just salad) pescatarian, and vegetarian dishes.

Food Appearance

4 - above average, tasteful presentation

Taste & Temperature

4 - the Mole seriously pushes this to a 4, maybe even a 5, I had to give the chef my compliments because it was the best I ever had.

Portion Size

3 - I'm going to say portions were about what one would expect. Not too much, not too little

Kid Friendly Options

4 - I love that they had tacos, and quesadillas for kids who want to try Mexican Cuisine, and also chicken fingers and Mac and Cheese for those kids who just cant leave the comfort zone.

Drink Selection

5 - The drink specials on the menu are all outstanding, and I love that they have flights. They also have a full bar in addition to what's listed.

Desert Selection

4- I can not give this a 5, since I haven't tasted any of the desserts, but the selections are creative, and sound amazing.

Price

3 - I'm going to go with average since you are paying for the experience and the scenery. It is about what I would expect to pay. Not a deal by any means, but also not overcharged for what you get.

OVERALL SCORE

4.0

Overall 4.0 Stars. I would definitely come back to this restaurant, it is one of my all time Epcot favorites.


Dined at San Angel Inn Restaurante? Feel free to leave a comment, and share your experience.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page