top of page

PROHIBITION PUBLIC HOUSE REVIEW



We are day 3 on vacation, and I have no intentions of cooking dinner. Dining out is my grantee that this is an actual vacation, so its super important for my experience. When I go out, I want a meal that I didn’t cook, dishes I don’t wash, a decent drink menu, and no complaints from the kids that "You made (insert dish here) again?!". As a wife, I want a little elegance and romance that I can sneak in with my spouse, although most restaurants don't offer babysitting services - so I usually get stuck with making eyes at my partner from across the table, with a hoard of kids between us. Mom life. On Saturday Night, 3/19/22 my family and I went to Prohibition Public House for dinner.


First Impression


Upon entering we were greeted warmly, and seated immediately. The aesthetic was very pleasing, it was wooden décor, with cushioned seating, and candle lit. Music was playing overhead. This looks like a great spot for a date, and I suspect this is a hot club location at night. After being seated, we received the menu via QRPC Code, and were given adequate time to review the menu before someone came to take our orders.


Dining Experience

Menu diversity was limited, and I want to say a little on the exotic side. It would be an awesome place to take a date. We would have ordered main dishes, as I was interested in the boar and venison burger, but they didn't really have kid friendly options, so we ordered some drinks and appetizers. Not really a family restaurant. The drink menu was impressive, and they had a lot of interesting cocktails. I had a peach cider which was absolutely delicious. The appetizers we ordered were a chicken flatbread, and a welsh rarebit dip. These were something the kids were able to enjoy. They did not take long to come out, were presented tastefully, and were flavorful. The price was a tad on the higher side. The best way I can explain it is, its perfect for a date spot (price wise as well as aesthetic and menu), but a little on the high end for a family of 5 to have main dishes.



Pros and Cons

Pros - great aesthetic, interesting food choices, extensive drink menu, comfortable seating


Cons- No kid friendly options, a little pricey

Overall Restaurant Rating

Let me be clear on my rating scale here, because I don’t want it to seem harsh. I rate 1-5 stars. If you ever have reviews at your job on their 1-5 scale, its kind of like that.


1 star = falls below standards

2 stars= needs improvement, falls short of expectations

3 stars = meets expectations

4 stars = exceeds expectations

5 stars = entirely another category of awesome – way above target.


So essentially 3 stars is good, rather than mediocre.


Category

Rating

Wait Time

4

Staff helpful/friendliness

4

Comfort/seating

5

Appearance

4

Menu Diversity

3

Food Presentation

3

Taste and temperature of food

3

Portion Size

3

Kid Friendly Options

2

Drink Selection

4

Price

3

Overall Rating

3.45

Overall rating 3.45. While not a family favorite, definitely a date night go to.

Book a reservation at Prohibition Public House at Ottawa Restaurants | Prohibition House

Dined at Prohibition Public House? Feel free to leave a comment and share your experience.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page