top of page

Jungle Navigation Co. Ltd. Skipper Canteen Dinner Review



Ok, you all know at this point, I love to eat and I hate cooking, ergo going out to eat is one of my favorite things. On October 14th 2022 my family and I went to Jungle Navigation Co. Ltd. Skipper Canteen in Disney's Magic Kingdom for dinner.



First Impression



This restaurant can be found in Disney World's Magic Kingdom, in Adventureland. Adventure land is one of my 2 favorite places in Disney world. This restaurant is a themed restaurant, that is kind of like Jungle book meets Jungle Cruise. It is decorated brightly, with mid 19th century décor. All of the cast members (servers) are required to deliver dad jokes to create a punny experience at this restaurant. While I'm sure its painful for such young performers to deliver these punny jokes all day long, providing visitors with groans and chuckles, my husband and I truly appreciated it.


Dining Experience



The menu I felt was a little small, mostly because I mainly eat steak and chicken, and there are only 1 steak and 1 chicken option. That being said they had pork, lamb, fish, and 2 vegetarian options on the menu. I do think this is an example of my pickiness getting in the way. I am just used to having a few different options for a chicken entrée. The kids menu included pineapple tofu! I feel like that's progressive. It also included kid staples like steak, chicken, and mac and cheese. The drink list is pretty extensive as well, from various teas, wine list, beers, and specialty cocktails, there is something for everyone. The dessert menu, while not large, looked completely amazing. Tropical touches like mango, lime, banana, pineapple, and coconut all made appearances in the various dessert dishes. I feel like while the options seem limited the effort that goes into the flavor of these dishes is definitely note worthy. I ordered the, "tastes like chicken, because it is", and while it was a chicken and rice dish, the flavors in the jasmine rice and the sweet chili glaze were complex, and very tasty.




Pros and Cons

Pros: Funny staff, tasty food, 19th century jungle explorer theme, great drink menu, easier to get reservations to than some other Disney World restaurants


Cons: Reservations strongly recommended, a little pricey


Overall Restaurant Rating

Let me be clear on my rating scale here, because I don’t want it to seem harsh. I rate 1-5 stars. If you ever have reviews at your job on their 1-5 scale, its kind of like that.

1 star = falls below standards

2 stars= needs improvement, falls short of expectations

3 stars = meets expectations

4 stars = exceeds expectations

5 stars = entirely another category of awesome – way above target.

So essentially 3 stars is good, rather than mediocre.



Category

Score

Wait Time

4 - seated within 5-10 minutes of reservation

Staff Helpful/friendliness

5- Not only is staff friendly and attentive, they are part of the show.

Comfort/ Seating

3- Seating is average

View/Appearance

4 - themed dining, mid 19th century jungle explorer vibes, bright colors - I felt like Jane from Tarzan would be at home there.

Taste & Temperature of Food

4 - everything came out timely and warm, taste had more complexity than a standard diner. This was above average

portion size

3 - portion size was about what was expected. Not too much, not too little

Kid friendly options

4- the pineapple tofu pushes this to above expectations. All the comfort foods that are to be expected with some kid friendly vegetarian options like flavorful tofu - that's awesome.

Drink Selection

5- way above what is expected, fancy teas and coffees, non alcoholic options, mixed drinks, wine lists, and beers on tap. There's a lot to choose from

Dessert Selections

4- The list of desserts is not extensive, only having 3 items on the menu, but that being said, I can't choose between them. All 3 desserts stay in theme with "jungle" or tropical flavors, and sound outrageous.

Price

3 - its a little more expensive than a "typical" dinner out, but the experience and scenery are unique, and its about what I would expect for a themed sit down restaurant in Disney World.

Menu Diversity

3- There is a beef, lamb, pork, chicken, and vegetarian dish - so there is something available for everyone.

Food Appearance

3 - All food was presented tastefully, but nothing above or below average.

Overall Score

3.75

Overall Score 3.75.



Dined at Jungle Navigation Co. Ltd. Skipper Canteen? Feel free to leave a comment, and share your experience.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page