top of page

Disney's Magic Kingdom Review



My family and I went to Walt Disney’s Magic Kingdom on October 14th, 2022. Some of the things that I worry about when taking my family out, is cost of tickets, since there are five of us, and if everyone of each age will enjoy something about it. It isn’t easy to please 2 adults, 1 teenager, a school aged child, and a kindergartner all at the same time. Our family has been raised on Disney, so there was something in Magic Kingdom for everyone, which is a huge win for me.


First Impression

It's hard to give a "First Impression" of Magic Kingdom, since this wasn't our first time there, but I'll do my best. Ticket price to get in is a little expensive. I mean its comparable to any other amusement park, but $109 a ticket X 5 people is a lot of money for 1 day of fun.

Before entering Magic Kingdom, we had to go through metal detectors, and baggage checks, then scan our passes to the park. There are people welcoming you and greeting you the entire time. Cast members assist you in everything from where to get on line, to providing maps, and guides at the entrance. We did not wait long to get in the park, but you should allow time for the travel there via monorail, the security checks, and then the park entrance.

Upon entry it's like you are magically transported into a new world. The architecture, decorations, & music all are in this 1940's golden age, recreated. You can hear the dapper dans, barber shop quartet and see all the shops (and smell the delicious sweetness coming from within) as you stroll along main street. We went in October, so the crowds at this time were not really bad at all. I don't imagine Magic Kingdom, or any Disney park is ever empty, but the crowds were all manageable.




Magic Kingdom Experience

There are different sections in Magic Kingdom, Tomorrowland, Fantasyland, Adventureland, Liberty Square, and Frontierland. Each one has their own theme, which is consistent with the architecture, design, stores, rides, and dining.

We ordered the "My genie +" so we were able to get on the fast pass lines for 1 ride, every 2 hours. Utilizing my genie +, definitely was worth the extra $20 per person. Otherwise, you may not be able to get on all the rides you want to. The rides in this park are pretty accessible to everyone. The height restriction was 40", so even my 6-year-old could do all the big, exciting rides. If you have a child under 40", they do offer child swapping, where one parent can go on, and then switch places with the other parent without waiting on line all over again.

I always seem to start in Tomorrowland and work my way around, counterclockwise. Tomorrowland is a futuristic, space themed section. Characters you may find there are from Monsters Inc or Toy Story. Fantasyland is, well more fantasy based. Characters you may find there are Merida, Cinderella, Ariel, Pooh Bear, Alice. Most of the iconic Disney figures. Liberty Square reminds me of colonial sleepy hollow. I don't know how else to describe it. I guess I get the spooky sleepy hollow feel from the Haunted Mansion, and it looks like colonial America. Characters you may see there are the Muppets, and I think Tiana. Frontierland is a western, gold mining looking area. There are shooting games in this area, as well the country bears. Finally, there is Adventureland which is jungle and Arabian themed. Characters in this area include those from Aladdin, and Pirates of the Caribbean.



For the school aged kids, they can go on all of the rides, they can meet their favorite characters, and see various parades, and dance parties. The teenagers may not be so keen on meeting characters (until they see Jack Sparrow) but can certainly appreciate the thrill rides (as well as the majority of the theme rides). The adults I think can really appreciate the subtle touches that you can find all around the park to make the in-depth experience complete. Even though I am an adult, I am a kid at heart, so I still love the rides, and watching my kids get excited at the parades, and watching them get star struck when they meet the characters. There really is something for everyone there.

Pros and Cons

Pros: Character appearances, Parades, Fireworks, Rides for the whole family, the park allows you to bring your own food and drink, stroller rentals/Wheelchair rentals are available at the front desk if needed unexpectedly, staff is amazing and helpful


Cons: The cost, the lines can get pretty long, it's a lot of walking for little feet, Food and Drink within Disney are expensive, many rides end in a gift shop

Overall Rating

In case you are not aware of my rating scale, let me elaborate, because I don’t want it to seem harsh. I rate 1-5 stars. If you ever have reviews at your job on their 1-5 scale, its kind of like that.


1 star = falls below standards

2 stars= needs improvement, falls short of expectations

3 stars = meets expectations

4 stars = exceeds expectations

5 stars = entirely another category of awesome – way above target.


So essentially 3 stars is good, rather than mediocre.


Category

Rating

Welcome upon Arrival

4

Length of Wait

4

Appearance & Cleanliness

5

Interest Level

5

Talent of Performers

5

Kid Friendliness

5

Price

3

Total Score

4.4


Overall, 4.4 stars. Way above expectations, and I highly recommend going at least once. If you are a huge Disney fan, definitely go!

Book your magic Kingdom Tickets at:


Been to Disney’s Magic Kingdom? Feel free to leave a comment and share your experience.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page