top of page

Camping in the Heat


I’m going to take a quick little minute hear to discuss 3 major issues of camping in the heat



If you are prone to sun burn, do yourself a favor – wear sun block! In the haze, in the sun, in the morning, and the evening. Not just in blazing hot obvious burn potential days. Spoken from many years of “I’m sure I’m not burning” Sun poisoning experience. Find a hat you like and wear it. Seriously.


Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Get water on you and in you. Drink water and pour water on your pulse points to cool down. If you have a summer shawl, bandana, veil, or handkerchief, soak it in water, and keep it on your head. Keep your electrolytes up with salty snacks like pickles, pretzels, or drink Gatorade.


Chub Rub, my summer nemesis. If you are unaware, chub rub is the expression used for the awful friction rash that you get between your thighs, when they rub together. I tried solutions like rubbing Vaseline, or deodorant on my inner thighs before going out. The only thing that has ever worked for me, and I stand by as tried and true, is bike shorts. I wear bike shorts under everything.


Stay cool out there!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page